Mini Coconut Goodness

At about noon yesterday, my husband informed me we were bringing dessert to our friends home that evening.  So, having seen this beautiful picture on pinterest a few weeks back, I knew exactly what I was going to make.

Mini Coconut Cream Piesslightly revised from the original

Ingredients:
2 pre-rolled refrigerated pie crusts
 
The filling:
1 small box of instant vanilla pudding
1 15 oz can of light coconut milk (mine’s from TJ’s)
1/2 tsp coconut extract
 
The topping:
1 cup heavy whipping cream
2 TBSP sugar (or to your taste)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp corn starch
 
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Grease mini-muffin tin and set aside.
 
Unroll prepared pie crust and using a 2 1/2 inch circle (or fancy scalloped cutter if you have one), cut 12 circles out of the dough… it is possible, see picture below for example. 🙂 
Press the circles into the mini muffin pan, making sure the dough is hugging its little muffin crevasse.  (If you don’t, little bubbles will form (or rather, one big bubble) and then no filling will fit in the tart.)   Bake the mini pie crusts for 5-8 minutes at 400 degrees. (Mine were perfect after 6 minutes and 50 seconds.)
 
For the filling, whip coconut milk, pudding, and coconut extract (Always taste test to make sure it’s coconutty enough for your crowd).  Mix together for 2 minutes, then let rest for at least 5 minutes to thicken.
 
For the topping, whip together the heavy whip cream, sugar, and vanilla (add cornstarch if you are preparing the mini pies ahead of time, it will help hold its form) until peaks form.
 
To put together:  Spoon the filling into completely cooled pie shells.  Then pipe or spoon the topping on each pie.  Last, gently place flaked coconut on each pie.  Refrigerate until you’re ready to serve!

I taste tested about 3 while putting these little puppies together.  They are delicious.  The one “extra” I will do for next time is make my own, homemade pie crusts.  Store bought just isn’t the same, mainly because it’s not sweet enough for me.  There’s a few good recipes on allrecipes if any of you are brave enough to do the scratch version.  Enjoy! 🙂

About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in Scrumptious bites and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mini Coconut Goodness

  1. Pinterest: the root of all crazy creativity 🙂 These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

