Gyros + Brownies

I know… weird combo, but what can I say ? Oh yah, I’m pregnant. 🙂  So I’m not sure if I told you all, but I received a brand spanking new bread machine for Christmas and have been using it every week to make every kind of bread imaginable.  So this week, I was craving greekish food – so obviously pita’s were a good choice.

I scoured the internet to find a noteworthy pita recipe, and I finally found it!

After throwing all the ingredients in the bread maker, about 1 1/2 hours later I pulled the dough out and formed it into a “loggish” looking creature.  Then, as instructed, I cut it into 8 pieces.  Below is my beautiful dough.

Yum, the smell of fresh dough is delish.  So then I began to roll out, estimating the size by what I think of as a typical pita. ((below))

Then, I stuck them directly in the oven @ 500 degrees for exactly 4 minutes.

Look at how perfect they are!  I love easy recipes.

So, all while my dough was rising, I prepared the meat & etc. portion of the meal.  You have to let it marinate and what not, so preparation is key.  This is actually one of those great, prepare the previous evening meals because once its all marinated it only takes 15 minutes to grill up and assemble.

I found a great recipe for gyros off of foodgawker.com.  **A little background to this day of cooking** I was stranded at home due to an abnormal amount of snow in the PNW… which, for any of you who are not familiar, is anything over an inch of accumulation.  But no, we really had a bad storm – my backyard saw about 12 inches and it was COLD!

At any rate, here’s a picture of the chicken in all its marinated glory.  Slight deviation to the recipe, I didn’t have any lemons, so I used lime juice.  It still was delicious, so I figure, success!

Now for the complicated part, Tzatziki.  I failed at taking pictures during this segment **SORRY!** mainly because tzatziki is SO time-consuming.  I accidentally purchased nonfat yogurt, but still tasted like the tzatziki I’ve had before, so it wasn’t that big of a deal… just took forever to drain all the liquid.  Also, I shredded the cucumbers and then squeezed all the excess water out with paper towels.  One thing I did do, that I’ll make sure to correct the next time, is that I used too much garlic.  Bleh!  I did a heavy hand of 3 tsp minced garlic… and it was waaaay to garlicy.  So word to the wise, this is not the situation where more is better.

The toppings I decided to use were cherry tomatoes, feta, and red onion.  I seriously think the red onion made the gyro.  It balanced all the flavors perfectly.

My husband asked me why I didn’t put the feta in a more attractive bowl , and my response was, “because why dirty more dishes”.  His response, “doesn’t stop you otherwise”.  UMMM do you not realize I just slaaaaaaaaaved over a meal for you… pulease.  And the kitchen was clean Might.I.Add.  ((He’s a little OCD with cleanliness, and thinks I run the dishwasher waaay too much… which could be true, but really, I just made you dinner – be quite!))

And here’s the final product.  I will never go back to store-bought pitas.  I may by store-bought tzatziki though… To the right is my little boo’s pizza.  He’s such a picky eater, so I made him a pita pizza (marinera sauce + mozzarella + chicken ((hidden of course)) + cherry tomato).

Now on to the MOST important part, dessert.  While on foodgawker I found a delicious recipe for peanut butter cheesecake brownies (quite a mouthful!).  Now this recipe tells you to use BOXED brownies for the bottom half – um no, making brownies are so easy peeps, please just take the 5 minutes to throw the ingredients together.  I used this recipe for brownies.  And the combo was sinful.  One slight deviation that my husband and I both agree on, add more cream cheese.  IDK, I’m just not tasting the whole cheesecake portion, I taste peanut butter but no cream cheese.  So, i’m thinking if you double the cream cheese to 8 oz instead of 4 you’ll be golden.  Another recommendation, refrigerate once the brownies have cooled… the next day they are to die for.  I know it’s hard to wait that long, I didn’t.  But they do taste better the next day versus right out of the oven.

About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in Scrumptious bites and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gyros + Brownies

  1. Von says:

    You are SO fun to read! And, exceptionally creative/talented…

  2. Laura says:

    Now I’m inspired to try making homemade pita bread sometime. Great post…yum!!

  3. JDazzo says:

    oh wow. I didn’t know pita bread could be so easy. I will have to try this! mmm imagining pita bread right from the oven…yummy!

Leave a Reply

