Bake me a cake…

As some of you might have seen a few days ago, I was searching for the perfect combination of chocolate and caramel for my Grandpa’s 80th birthday celebration (which is tonight!). After reviewing all the suggestions, and googling my little heart out, I finally ran across a recipe that made me drool. –> view original recipe here

Chocolate Cake with Fleur De Sel Caramel

Now, as most of you know, I’ve never been one to follow the rules. So I changed things up a bit. First of all, I baked three cakes (9 inch pans) instead of that cutting business the recipe wants you to do.

Yes, the back right cake is slightly deformed. I put it on the bottom rack of my oven that slants… not the most brilliant idea. If I had enlisted more patience, I could have saved myself a lot of trouble.

Next I made the caramel and ganache. The ganache, I followed the directions to the “T”. I used the ghirardelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips. For the caramel, I didn’t have fleur de sel OR light corn syrup. So I substituted dark corn syrup and sea salt, slightly coarse. Both turned out great and more importantly, tasted amazing.

To cool the ganache quickly and get it to the consistency I wanted, I put it in the freezer and mixed it every 20-30 minutes. The caramel – I also stuck in the freezer for about a half an hour and that helped it reach room temperature at the rate I needed it to.

Now for the piping… I don’t know about any of you, but I don’t own any fancy piping tools. Maybe one day, on a whim, i’ll invest. But as of right now I use a make shift version.

Now for the fun part, layering. As I mentioned earlier, I had one deformed cake. Well, I decided to use that one for my middle layer and just ganache the heck out of it to make it stand up straight. It sort of worked, but then the caramel started oozing out. See pictures below for play by play.

So after that loveliness occurred, I had to really work hard to ganache it all in. I kept on running my spatula under hot water to make the ganache spread a little easier. For the most part this worked.

Lastly, I rolled the toasted almonds up the side and then drizzled the remaining caramel on top of the cake. We’ll be eating it this evening to celebrate Grandpa’s 80th – so I’ll let ya know how it tastes. 🙂

Just for giggles i’ve posted the “background music” to my baking… see picture of child below for meaning of “background music.”

About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in Scrumptious bites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bake me a cake…

  1. Von says:

    It was amazing, Miss Terell- THANK YOU for the beautiful gift to your grandpa. What a fun night we had! ♥

  2. The cake looks super yummy! And the background music was unexpectedly funny 😛 what a cutie pie anyway!

Leave a Reply

