A Christmas Story

Last night my little Boo had a high fever.   For the first time, I panicked.  I took his temperature more than 5 times in a row to make sure the thermometer was correct.  I googled fevers, and when I should call the doctor (which when a child is 6-12 mo’s is when a fever reaches 103.  However, Boo is JUST 6 mo’s and it says children 3-6 mo’s if the fever is over 101 you should call the doctor… His fever was 101.5).  Then I ended up finding all the things correlated with fevers – i.e. pneumonia, bronchitis, deadly diseases, etc.  As you would guess, I started freaking out. 

Since it was Christmas night, and I’ve never called our pediatrician after hours, (I didn’t want to be ‘that parent’ especially on Christmas)  I gave Boo the recommended dose of Tylenol in hopes that it would start to bring the fever down.  I then proceeded to strip him down to his diaper and lay a cold wet cloth across his forehead.  He was absolutely wiped.  He just lay in my arms hacking and wheezing.  I’ve never seen him so helpless.  I kept thinking, please don’t puke, please don’t puke.

About an hour and a half later his fever started dropping.  About three hours later it had gone from 101.5 to 99.9.  Needless to say, I felt a huge burden lift off of me.  All he wanted last night was mommy.  So, he slept in our bed, waking every hour it seems.

 This Christmas I am grateful that God has blessed my family with a warm house to live in, a full medicine cabinet, and a doctor just a phone call away.  Why me?  Why am I so lucky when there are so many other people in the world who are not?   This is the question that eats away at me today.

 
Mr. Silly Face – My favorite Christmas Present
About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in Mommyhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Christmas Story

  1. Trina says:

    I feel for you Terell! I remember when Asher got his first major sickness..I was a nervous wreck. I think it affected me more than him! 🙂 It’s good to know that “this too shall pass.” Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

