An ode to chore charts

Back in the college days my favorite little red-head of a roommate made this amazing chore chart.  GG (one of my other roommates) and I absolutely hated it.  But, we always knew who had kitchen, garbage, vacuum duty.  So, since my husband and I both work a bazillion hours a week and get no sleep because of our tempermental 6 month old son, I’ve decided to bring the chore chart back. 

A few weeks back I went to Michael’s and dropped $30 + on art supplies for my chore chart.  Which was dumb.  Seriously, I don’t have time to put away the dishes let alone make a chore chart, what was I thinking?  After two weeks of my husband hassling me about the elicit chart I so cleverly decided to create, I finally sat down and got to it.  The stupid thing took me waaaaaaaaaaaaay to long.  I seriously could have cleaned the whole damn house by the time I was done with that thing.  But it’s done, and half of the crafty things I bought for it I decided not to use… because that would’ve taken me another few hours. 

The chore chart completion occurred 3 days ago.

My good friends (and roommates from college who I referred to earlier in this post) are coming up from CA to visit for the first time since graduation.  Well last weekend we were in Whistler for Thanksgiving, and didn’t get home until late Sunday evening.  I’ve worked until the evening hours every day this week, so haven’t had time to clean.  Tonite, after our weekly pizza dinner with the husbands familia, I got down to it (cleaning wise).  I attempted to scrub the guest bathroom, which our contractor did a terrible job sealing the tile (which is white) so no matter how much I scrub the stupid thing it just doesn’t look clean.  Did I mention my mom owns a facility services company… too bad we laid off half of our special services team, I really need my floors resealed!!  I should just learn… at any rate while I’m scrubbing down the bathroom and meanwhile my husband is sitting infront of the TV in the bonus room.  I sweetly ask “could you please go empty the dishwasher for me?” – his response “the chore chart says you’re on kitchen duty”…. Are you fricken serious?  

15 minutes later as I fed his son he conceded and emptied the dishwasher.

Seriously, chore chart = okay idea.  Maid = AMAZING idea.

About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An ode to chore charts

  1. Marie M says:

    I am in total favor of the Maid Idea! It’s either that or he does his own laundry. When he runs out of socks and underwear, he will finally get it. 🙂
    You Rock!

  2. Mama Mimi says:

    Bahaha! Why does our “FABULOUS” ideas for organization in fact prevent us from doing the thing we want to do in the first place? At least friends love you whether you have a clean house or not {at least TRUE friends do}.

Leave a Reply

