Snap Snap

The last few months i’ve become minorly obsessed with my SLR.  Last month I finally took a photography class, as i’ve been taking 99.9% of my pictures on auto.  Boy did I learn a lot.  I had no idea what any of the buttons (minus auto) on the camera meant, and now I know what like 25% of them are. =)  Also, I always wondered how people edited there pictures — I know how to edit pictures, but to edit the picture and then have the next picture you edit look similar in design?  Ya, no idea. 

Actions!  I found out about actions, and now i’m minorly obsessed with finding new websites with free actions.  I still haven’t found an action i’m craazy about.  I figure i’ll probably have to dish out some cash to get one that I want to use consistently.  One website that I found, for all you photogs – http://www.thecoffeeshopblog.com/.  Check it out, she’s got some pretty great FREE actions for elements.

One obstacle as an up and coming photog hobbiest is that I share a camera with my mom.  Which worked out fine at first, but now she takes the camera when I need/want it!  Which, I suppose is fair considering she purchased it.  So for Christmas/My birthday (#1 reason I won’t have a winter baby — you get your birthday and Christmas presents lumped together) I’ve asked for a sparkling new camera.

Now that I feel a little bit more knowledgeable about photography, i’ve become a snob with cameras.  Even though I know, it doesn’t really matter what body you have as long as you have a great lens – I still want the best.  I can blame my mom for that one.  So, i’ve decided I want the Canon 60D camera. (best option for an amateur in my opinion, because i’m not going to spend a bazillion dollars).  It’s shiney and beautiful and has video camera capabilities (hello double bonus!).

At any rate, I’m loving snapping pictures of my little one and just life in general.  I can’t wait to get my hands on this new toy!! Hopefully the husby comes through.

Here are a few photos from my photography class in October.

About Momma-ista

I'm a wife and mother ~ which is mainly what you'll be reading about in this blog. A few fun facts: I have a new found passion for photography. I have a guilty pleasure of watching soap opera's and reality tv. I'm in biz dev for my mom's company. Recently I started donating my time to New Way Ministries - it's a great cause, and I get to do what I love best - marketing!
This entry was posted in This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

